About Advisory Board


At the moment, the Urban Design Studio is reconstituting its advisory board. As the board is assembled, we will update this page to reflect the current members. The advisory board helps guide the Urban Design Studio to fulfill its mission to promote a better built environment and help create a more sustainable Louisville.

Current UDS Board members include:

Barry Alberts, AICP
Managing Partner  |  CityVisions Associates 

Chris Bowling, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, NCARB
President  |  Central Kentucky Chapter (CKC) of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) 

Charles Cash, AIA
Planning Director (Retired)  |  Louisville Metro Planning & Design Services

Aida Copic, AICP
Director of Planning |  Transit Authority of River City

Alfred S. Joseph III
Attorney  |  Stites & Harbison PLLC 

Susan Hamilton
Windrow Land Resources LLC

Henry V. Heuser, Jr.
CEO  |  Henry Vogt Machine Co. and UNISTAR, LLC 

Gill Holland
Developer  |  The Green Building 

Branden Klayko
Editor  |  Broken Sidewalk

Larry Owsley
Vice President for Business Affairs  |  University of Louisville 

Patrick Piuma
Director  |  Urban Design Studio

David Simpson, PhD
Director  |  University of Louisville - School of Urban & Public Affairs

Tricia Smallwood, RLA, LEED AP
Project Manager, Rundell Ernstberger Associates, LLC 

Patrick Smith, AICP
Community Planner & Evaluation Researcher  |  REACH of Louisville 

Claude E. Stephens
Education Director  |  Bernheim Arboretum & Research Forest